Event Report: Murdoch State Sprint Champs

Saturday 21st September 2019murdoch2019 startpic

Murdoch University campus hosted the Sprint Championship with four detailed and intricate courses. There were close contests across all the age classes and congratulations to Ricky Thackray (M21A) and Veronika Vavrova (W21A) who took out the Open trophies.

Thanks to all those who helped to make the event a success. A team of LOST people assisted Karen Staude (setter) and Ken Brownlie (controller) including; Richard Matthews (who helped with putting out the controls and ran non-competitive), Edward Plummer, Mike Howe, Noel Schoknecht, Anthea Feaver. Moreen Cox, Simon Spagnol, Robert Graieg, Nick Dale, Zali Dale, Jen Porter and Carol Brownlie (WOW ring in!).

Special thanks go to Nicole Davis who, as a meticulous event organiser, made everything else easy for all the workers.

Special mention to Tristan Merritt who helped his mum Karen put out controls, helped set up the start and then collected maps from early finishers. He also managed to host some friends and showed them around their first orienteering course. A busy day for a 6 year old!

Many thanks for all who came, smiled, ran hard, said “thank you” and cheered at the presentation. You all helped make the day a success.

Nicole Davis
Event Organiser

Event Results here >>

Maps and Photos on Facebook

OWA Sponsors

Australian Sports Commission
Department of Local Government,Sport and Cultural Industries

Acknowledgement of country

Ngalak kaaditj nidja Noongar Boodjar. Koora-Yeyi-Kalyakool.Noongar country logo 2023 150px

Orienteering WA acknowledges the Noongar people, the Traditional and continuing Custodians of the land on which we gather to enjoy our sport, and pay our respects to Elders past and present.