• Saturday, 17 February 2024

Maylands Foreshore reserve

Just over 80 orienteers attended the final MetrO series event of the 2023/2024 season in Maylands. The Swan River foreshore made for a nice assembly area, and competitors picked a large variety of routes around the lakes and through the parklands on the peninsula. Those who took the time to enjoy the many scenic views from control sites would not have been disappointed. Thankfully, the weather was a little cooler than last week at just over 30 degrees at the time of the event.

Duncan Sullivan and Sarah Richards were the clear winners on the short course. On the medium and long course, respectively, Cedric Gros and Craig Dufty recorded their first win for the season at the last opportunity, while Kristin Viikmaa and Veronika Vavrova came through for their third win.

Thanks to Sten Claessens for setting the event, and to Ruben Claessens who helped put out controls (and then ran the long course out of competition). A special thanks to Moreen Cox for being our meet 'n' greet official and to Tony Simpkins for giving the newcomers briefing. Finally, thanks also to the large legion of control collectors and others who helped pack up after the event: Mark and Neve Lommers, Cedric Gros, Robert Graieg, Liisa Hirvonen, Helen Bailey, Duncan Sullivan, Graeme Harris, Gary Aitken, Anna Napier, Peter Gillon and quite possibly some others we failed to mention. 2023-2024 metro series winner Robert

Results are in Eventor, and you can check out controls visited, splits and more on the details page.
Upload your track to Livelox and compare your route choices with those of your fellow orienteers.

Overall MetrO 2023-2024 series awards were also presented at the conclusion of the Maylands event. Several people climbed up the ranks at this last event to secure their place on the podium. Congratulations to all the category winners: Neve Lommers (short junior female), Eli Goodchild (short junior male), Amy Dufty (medium junior female), Ruben Claessens (medium junior male), Carol Brownlie (short senior female), Robert Graieg (short senior male), Liisa Hirvonen (medium senior female), Nick Dale (medium senior male), Kate Braid (long open female) and Sten Claessens (long open male).

Check out the final 2023-2024 MetrO Series results.

Photos: after finish at Maylands (by Liisa Hirvonen); Robert with his MetrO series prize (by Christine Howitt).

OWA Sponsors

Acknowledgement of country

Noongar country logo 2023 150pxNgalak kaaditj nidja Noongar Boodjar. Koora-Yeyi-Kalyakool.

Orienteering WA acknowledges the Noongar people, the Traditional and continuing Custodians of the land on which we gather to enjoy our sport, and pay our respects to Elders past and present.