Event Report: OWA Annual Celebration

Sunday, 13 November 2022

Whiteman Park

A pleasant morning greeted the nearly 90 orienteers who gathered at Whiteman Park on Sunday 13th November to celebrate a successful year of orienteering. The very attractive 2023 Carnival Banners promoting the National Orienteering Championships that WA is hosting here in late September next year made a very fine backdrop both to our perpetual trophies and yearly awards and for photos taken of trophy winners.  

Our President, Anna Napier, was the MC. She thanked all the volunteers who made contributions to the smooth running of the many events that were held over the past year. Those who received awards were:

2022 Trophies: Foot Orienteering
Junior Female Orienteer of the Year                   Amy Dufty
Junior Male Orienteer of the Year                       Rohan Braid
Female Orienteer of the Year                              Anthea Feaver
Male Orienteer of the Year                                   Tony Simpkins
Jeff Whittam Junior Award Female                      Ruby Phillips
Jeff Whittam Junior Award Male                           Lachlan Braid
WA Female Long Distance Champion                 Rachel West
WA Male Long Distance Champion                     Craig Dufty
WA Female Middle Distance Champion             Not awarded
WA Male Middle Distance Champion                 Not awarded
WA Female Sprint  Distance Champion             Ceri Pass
WA Male Sprint Distance Champion                   Riley McFarlanes
Rutty Rock for Champion Club - Relays              LOST
Bengtsson-Offrell Trophy -  Champion Club      LOST
MetrO Series Champion Club 2021/2022          KO

2022 Trophies: Mountain Bike Orienteering
Female Mountain Bike Orienteer of the Year        Debbie McKay
Male Mountain Bike Orienteer of the Year            Hadrien Devillepoix
State Open Middle Distance Female Champion    Anthea Feaver
State Open Middle Distance Male Champion        Hadrien Devillepoix
State Open Long Distance Female Champion       Ellie Sansom
State Open Long Distance Male Champion           Duncan Sullivan

Volunteer of the Year awards
Liisa Hirvonen
Rob West
Riley McFarlane
Tony Simpkins

2022 Golden Gumnuts
Awarded to those who “had distinguished themselves in orienteering in ways they would probably have preferred not to have done”! Read the stories here.

2022 Interstate Schools’ team
Presented with medallions to commemorate their achievements at the recent National carnival.  

Life member
Noel Schoknecht’s contributions over many years as Mapping Convenor, past President and talented Christmas Novelty event organiser were recognised with the presentation of his certificate of life membership.

Participants enjoyed a picnic style lunch supplied by Elegant Touch. This was a very casual occasion and members were free to wander and mingle. The younger members enjoyed having the space to play games.

Success of the occasion was ensured thanks to all the contributors who came early to help set up, arranged provision of drinks, prepared sweets, provided ice and brought along an Engel to keep the ice cream frozen. Thanks to all those who lent a hand in packing up: within half an hour the only remaining signs of the event were small piles of melting ice on the grass.

Photos: Amy and Rohan, Junior Orienteers of the Year

OWA Sponsors

Australian Sports Commission
Department of Local Government,Sport and Cultural Industries

Acknowledgement of country

Ngalak kaaditj nidja Noongar Boodjar. Koora-Yeyi-Kalyakool.Noongar country logo 2023 150px

Orienteering WA acknowledges the Noongar people, the Traditional and continuing Custodians of the land on which we gather to enjoy our sport, and pay our respects to Elders past and present.