WA wins MTBO state shield!

A hard fought battle across the three rounds of the National Mountain Bike Orienteering Championships held in Dwellingup over the weekend saw WA triumphant over strong Vic, NSW and Qld competition to win the state shield for the first time in ten years.  The last time we won the shield was also on home soil in 2006.  WA riders overwhelmed the competition in the sprint and middle distance events although Victoria fought back to win the long event but not enough to take the trophy.  Congratulations to everyone involved and thanks to all riders, volunteers and officials for making this a successful weekend.

State shield points

  NSW Qld Vic WA
Sprint 20 5 27 38
Middle 16 14.5 19.5 34
Long 14 11 32 24
  50 30.5 78.5 96

WA winners of the MTBO National Series are:

M12: Connor Martin
M21: Ricky Thackray
W16: Lily McFarlane
W50: Debbie McKay (joint with Kay Haarsma, SA)

Our National Champions are:

M12: Connor Martin (s/m/l)
M14: Riley Martin (s/l) + Mason Eves (m)
M21: Ricky Thackray (s)
W40: Andrea Eves (s)
W50: Debbie McKay (s/m/l)

OWA Sponsors

Australian Sports Commission
Department of Local Government,Sport and Cultural Industries

Acknowledgement of country

Ngalak kaaditj nidja Noongar Boodjar. Koora-Yeyi-Kalyakool.Noongar country logo 2023 150px

Orienteering WA acknowledges the Noongar people, the Traditional and continuing Custodians of the land on which we gather to enjoy our sport, and pay our respects to Elders past and present.