WA Sprint Championship

Curtin University, Saturday August 22nd 2015
NavDash Sprint Event

The WA Sprint Champs will be held in the main Bentley campus area of Curtin University. The map is a typical mix of buildings, parkland, underpasses and pathways, offering a great deal of complexity and route choice.

Entry Details:

Entries: Pre-entry is open via Eventor.
To be eligible for the Sprint Championship Awards you MUST pre-enter.

Pre-entry benefits: Pre-allocated start time and a map printed on waterproof paper. Eligibility for awards and trophies.
Awards will be presented in all classes and acknowledge all place-getters. To be awarded the trophy as State Champion M21 or W21 competitors must be a full financial member of OAWA and a WA resident.
Entries close: Monday 17th August 2015 at midnight.
After this time only enter-on-the-day (EOD) for non-championship entries will be available. In exceptional circumstances a late entry may be accepted and this will be entirely at the discretion of the organiser.
Entry queries and assistance please contact Graham Braid.

Event Information: Start times and any additional competition details will be sent via email to pre-entrants prior to the event, listed in Eventor and displayed at the event site.
Enter on the day (EOD): Two enter on the day course will be available – one hard course and an easy course.Please NOTE: These are separate courses to the championship courses (map will be printed on paper and not pre-bagged). Groups are eligible for enter on the day only. These competitors will be started after all championship competitors have started. Likely start time will be from 2.30pm onwards, depending on pre-entry numbers.

Course Details:

Courses: Available Courses and Classes (distance are indicative and straight line)
Course 1 : 2.5 km M21, M17-20, M35, M45
Course 2 : 1.9 km W21, W17-20, W16, W35, W45, W55, M14, M16, M55, M65, M70 (Non-championship class M21B)
Course 3 : 1.5 km W65, W70, W75, W80, M75, M80, W14 (Non-championship class W21B)
Course 4 (Easy navigation): 1.4 km W10, W12, M10, M12

First Championship start: 1.30pm On the Day Registration: 1.00 to 2.30pm
First EOD Start: 2.30pm (approx)
Last start: 3.00pm
Course Closure: 4.00pm

Organising Club: KO
Setter: Graham Braid (0433097028)
Organiser: Ceri Pass
Mapper: Paul Dowling
Map:  Curtin University (ISSOM) 1:4000 (2014)

Directions: The assembly area is just south of building 309. Enter Curtin University from Manning Road and proceed along Brand Drive to carparks C9 and C16, where there should be ample parking.  The caravan will be located in carpark C13. The area west and north of building 309 is out of bounds, except the marked route to the pre-start.  The pre-start will be located near the north western corner of building 311, about 150m from the assembly area. Competitors will be able to warm up in the car park area only.

Event Directions Available via Eventor

OWA Sponsors

Australian Sports Commission
Department of Local Government,Sport and Cultural Industries

Acknowledgement of country

Ngalak kaaditj nidja Noongar Boodjar. Koora-Yeyi-Kalyakool.Noongar country logo 2023 150px

Orienteering WA acknowledges the Noongar people, the Traditional and continuing Custodians of the land on which we gather to enjoy our sport, and pay our respects to Elders past and present.